Announcement – 2012 Russian Piano Competition/Festival

Dear piano teachers and students,

Welcome to the Fifth Annual Piano Festival/Competition on December 15th , 2012 at Sherman Clay in downtown Seattle, sponsored by the Russian Chamber Music Foundation of Seattle. Our competition grows yearly, giving more students opportunities to perform in venues in the Seattle area and beyond. Last year’s winners performed at the Keyboard Wizards winners’ concert at Sherman Clay, a pre-concert recital at Benaroya Hall, and live on Classical King FM’s Northwest Focus show. New this year is a category for performers playing a single selection from Tchaikovsky’s The Seasons, Op. 37a. The winners from various categories will also be asked to perform in a special recital including all movements from The Seasons. The previous (2011) year’s first prize winners are not eligible to win in the same category, but are encouraged to compete in a different category and with different repertoire. Adjudicators for this year’s competition will select winners from the following categories:


Group A – 5-7 years (up to 4 minutes) – Fee $40

Group B – 8-10 years (up to 5 minutes) – Fee $45

Group C – 11-14 years (up to 7 minutes) – Fee $50

Group D – 15-18 years (up to 10 minutes) – Fee $55

Group E – up to 18 years – Tchaikovsky’s The Seasons, Op. 37a (1 selection) – Fee $50

Group F – College (up to 13 minutes) – Fee $60

Group G1 – Adults without music degree (up to 13 minutes) – Fee $65

Group G2 – Adults with music degree (up to 13 minutes) – Fee $65


Group H – Concerto (pre-college students up to age 18) – Fee $60

Group I – Chamber Music (all ages) – Fees $80 (duet), $120 (trio), $160 (quartet).  Other ensembles, please inquire for fee.

Prizes: First place winners will receive a trophy, second place will receive a rosette, ranked honorable mentions will receive a ribbon, and unranked honorable mention will receive a certificate. In Group C, D, and F, special prizes will be awarded for Best Performance of a) Prokofiev piano sonata movement, b) Scriabin piano sonata movement, and c) Shostakovich Prelude and Fugue. From all of the first prize winners, two will be selected to receive a $250 scholarship. In addition to these prizes, winners will perform on Classical FM’s Northwest Focus and at Benaroya Hall. Winners will also be asked to perform in a special recital featuring all movements from Tchaikovsky’s The Seasons, Op. 37a.

The application process is now entirely online: submit entries and fees (see rules for details) between September 1 and December 1 at No mailed entries will be accepted.

If you have questions, please contact Project Coordinator, Chelsea Bloomberg, at 425-344-1342 or Further information is also available at